Reverse Engineer Mode 2 Charger

I recently bought an EV and wanted to setup an affordable charging solution for home charging that would allow me to control the charging according to a schedule and also according to the current energy prices.

Mode 2 charger

The EV was supplied without a charger so I decided to buy an affordable Mode 2 charger of Aliexpress. I've seen this charger being sold under different brand names so I figured it would be a reasonable choise.

The charger is three phase which allows the maximum charging of 11 kW. This is also the maximum charging speed of the EV.

Opening up the charger revealed that the manufacturer had already planned for Wifi control so that gave me some hope that they would have already made some firmware to control the charger remotely. Dumping the firmware of the STM32 microcontroller however, revealed that this was unfortunately not the case.

Instead of patching the dumped firmware, I decided to map out all the pins and use the opensource project ArduinoEVSE as a base to build my own firmware that would talk to a ESP-12F Wifi module running ESPHome.

Home Assistant

Finally I wanted to control the charger using Home Assistant. I found an addon called Smart EV Charging that did everything I wanted, and was pretty much a plug and play solution with combination with my charging solution.

Will update this post with links to the firmware once released.

Contact me